Tutor Profile

Cafetalk

Anne H

288 Lessons conducted
125 Students requested
Messages from our tutors
Profile

Hello, my name is Anne. I live here in England where I was born. At present I live on the south coast, near the popular resort of Brighton, only a couple of hours away from London. I also live within walking distance of an iconic view in the South Downs National Park - the Coastguard Cottages at Cuckmere Haven, shown in the photo below.



I have been an English tutor for many years. I started teaching on an informal basis while living overseas and found it so rewarding that later on I took a course and gained my Certificate in Teaching English as a Foreign Language to Adults. Since then I have tutored students ranging in age from teenagers to senior citizens. The range of languages of my students is enormous – from Arabic to Zulu and everything in between! I’ve also been a student of languages myself – Swahili, French, Spanish and German - and I’m generally good at making myself understood and understanding others whatever languages we are speaking. My students tell me that I am an understanding and empathetic teacher and I believe my previous work and life experience have helped me a lot in this way. As a young woman, I lived in Tanzania in East Africa for twenty years. I worked in rural development whilst also bringing up my two children. On my return to the UK, I gained a Master’s Degree in Sociology and then worked in overseas development which took me to The Philippines and Thailand.  


My interests include writing fiction and memoir (I belong to a creative writing group), reading (I also belong to a book group!), gardening, and rambling through the countryside.


Nowadays, aside from tutoring English, I have an occasional job invigilating exams at our local secondary school. I really enjoy working with learners.


In my English teaching I like to be encouraging and informal in order to boost my students’ confidence and to help them communicate effectively, whether speaking and listening or reading and writing. I have a strong grasp of grammar, structure and punctuation if these are things you want help with . I am also an experienced proof-reader so I can help you with your essays, official correspondence etc.  It’s really up to you. If you’d like to know any more about me or my teaching,  please do ask. 



 

Teaching
English

Lessons offered by this tutor